Putting my shoes away

by fortytwo6x7

th-31

I put my shoes in the cloakroom
I put my coat there too
This really should not be this strange
But then I lived with you

Space for me where I called “home”
Was really hard to find
So I kept these things out in the shed
How could I be so blind

So now I smile a little smile
It happens every day
But why should someone find such joy
In putting shoes away ?

Author notes
Abuse takes many forms. It is not necessarily the punch the kick the bite that dose the damage. Simply denying a person facilities people take for granted, making someone live by a different set of rules to everyone else in the house is just as effective. This poem seeks to explain this. For more information on domestic abuse against men see http://www.mapni.co.uk and there paper towards gender equality.

