I’m Fine……..

by fortytwo6x7

What you have missed in all the confusion

is my state of health is an illusion

my smiling face dispenses delusions

to look at me you could not tell

about my daily walk through hell

the truth is I am not doing well

Every nerve and fibre want to break

yet every day another step I take

so that in society I participate

I cry yet tears have never fell

the cause of my pain you can not tell

the truth is I am not doing well

The thought that runs inside my head

is I would rather have lost my leg instead

so my condition would be displayed

then people could reach the correct conclusion

because what you have missed in all the confusion

is my state of health is an illusion

By

Forty Two

© Forty Two, all rights reserved.

Author Notes

We, as society have changed the meaning go the term “how are you” into hello. We ask people how they are doing without actually wanting the real answer, taking the fact the person stands b before us looking complete as proof they are fine.

Invisible illness come in a multitude of forms with symptoms and effects as diverse as the people who suffer them. Generally those people go through life lying about the state of their health in order get along with the people they interact with.

This helps neither the afflicted, or society as a whole.

